The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Frontline of the positive revolution

Seth Godin’s post this morning – Drop the dot? – is a prime example of his mastery of the positive.

“Rob writes in from Australia, proposing that [dot] com is superfluous, just as www is.”

I am still stuck in the “right vs. wrong” of Aristotelian rock logic, as Edward deBono called it.  I would have answered Rob with, “No, we need (dot) com to distinguish from (dot) org, (dot) info, and (dot) us.”

In other words, I would have answered “I am right, you are wrong” (a title of one of deBono’s books), with the not-so-subtle suggestion that it was a stupid question to begin with.

Rather than doing as I do, which tends to piss people off, Seth took the question seriously and used is as the basis for an interesting point about communication, which tends to make friends.

Written by Tom Fox

04/10/2008 at 7:47 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

