The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

A case in point – Little Leather Library

In the summer of 2004 I created a web site devoted to the Little Leather Library. (moved to new location in April 2011) This was at a time before I even had a working knowledge of html, or much of anything else. I used Adobe’s GoLive software to create the page, which I then though was very cool. I thought of a web page as if it were a piece of paper and it seemed to me that a tables-based program like GoLive (which is similar to Dreamweaver) was a nifty way to put things on a page and have them display where I put them.

Then, I mostly forgot about it.

Looking back at it again, I can see that it was badly designed, poorly executed, and unfinished. It would hardly be worth my time messing with it except for the fact that, through no fault of my own, this cheesy little web site of mine has achieved number one Google search ranking on the phrase Little Leather Library.

The reason, of course, is that the subject matter is so obscure and of such limited interest that nobody before or since has focused so much attention on it. It is the single hair sticking out of the extreme tip of the tail, so to speak.

All I know is that a number one ranking on Goggle for this site produces about forty visitors per day, and I feel totally confident that nobody is going to dispute ownership for this slice of Internet traffic. It just isn’t worth it.

So, what am I going to do with it? The only thing that comes to mind when I think of forty visitors per day in a tightly focused offbeat subject is . . . .

Guinea pigs!

I can test every hair-brained idea I have about how to squeeze a few bucks of out web traffic, and if I screw up there is no big loss involved.

Step one is to install Google Analytics so that I can get a feel for who these fine folks are, and why they are visiting my site.

I don’t know what step two is yet.

Written by Tom Fox

05/21/2007 at 11:19 am

