The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Open source facelift

While I’m waiting for Google Analytics to gather a useful amount of traffic data on my Little Leather Library site, I want to update the appearance of the site and at the same time move to a standards-based design. This means eliminating html tables for layout purposes, and changing to the use of cascading style sheets.

Since I don’t want to spend very much time cooking up my own design from scratch, I have opted to use an open source template designed by Andreas Viklund, which I will modify in the coming days, as time permits.

Here is the archived version of the site’s main page layout as it appears today.

Here is the archived version of Andreas’ unaltered template.

Written by Tom Fox

05/22/2007 at 9:42 am

Posted in CSS, Open Source, Web Design

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] example page combines the open source design template of Andreas Viklund mentioned in Open source facelift, as modified by me, with an affiliate RSS feed from eBay that was styled using CSS, with my crude […]


Comments are closed.

