The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Whiplash

I saw an Internet ad for Breitling watches that read, “Did you hear that Breitling has a watch that will save your life?”

Well, no, I hadn’t heard that before, and I was curious, so I clicked the link that took me to a Breitling page where I had to select a continent, then a country, and then I was taken to a page that informed me:

“Beware of frauds. Do not buy any Breitling product on the Internet: 99% of the Breitling watches for sale on the net are fakes . . . NO WARRANTY FOR WATCHES BOUGHT ON THE NET.”

breitling

I bet the folks selling some 311 Breitling watches on Amazon.com will be surprised to hear this, but I don’t see how this gem of information is going to save my life.

P.S. – Here’s a suggestion:

Rather than cast blanket doubt upon the authenticity of your own products, regardless of the vendor, maybe offer a free Breitling verification process, or a free ebook, “How to buy Breitling watches with confidence.”

If you are going to spend good advertising dollars to promote your business, it seems to me that spending that money inspiring market confidence is smarter than inspiring fear.

Written by Tom Fox

05/22/2007 at 10:47 pm

Posted in Idiots

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Breitling watches for sale on the net are fakes . . . NO WARRANTY FOR WATCHES BOUGHT ON THE NET. Whiplash no score link spread Business 1 minute ago by […]


Comments are closed.

