The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

The expense of a website?

According to teamtutorials.com:

“Face it, running a website isn’t cheap. The main overhead costs for most websites are hosting and domain name registration.”

Huh?

As far as I can tell hosting and domain name registration are the smallest part of the expense associated with running a website. The big expense is the time involved, if you do it yourself, or paying someone else to take care of the technical details if you don’t.

Teamtutorials.com looks like an interesting site, but when that is the first thing I read, it’s like throwing a brick into a blender. Lots of mental sparks and then everything grinds to a halt. It just doesn’t jibe with me at all.

So what else did they get wrong, and do I really want to find out?

Written by Tom Fox

05/31/2007 at 3:18 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are right. Domain name and hosting are actually pretty cheap. I guess I really didn’t consider the time I spend when I was writing that post. By the way, thanks for checking out our site.

    spyderman4g63

    06/03/2007 at 9:23 pm

  2. […] to mention the amount of time you must invest into creating and maintaining a website (thanks to The Learning Curve for pointing that out). One way to offset this cost is by utilizing internet advertising. This […]

  3. […] in its Introduction to Online Advertising, acknowledged my gripe from last week in The expense of a website?, and actually made a modification to its blog […]


Comments are closed.

