The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

More about email spam protection

I can’t say that I’ve worked through the practical details of this myself, but while looking at some email headers I noticed:

“Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 208.109.80.28 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of . . . .”

SPF stands for email Sender Policy Framework. It has been implemented in the last few years as “an extension to the Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP). SPF allows software to identify and reject forged addresses in the SMTP MAIL FROM (Return-Path), a typical nuisance in e-mail spam.”

If you do not send any emails directly from your domain, you can create a SPF record in your domain name server that informs email servers to reject any spoofed email that uses your domain name as part of its return-path. If you do send emails from your domain, you can create a SPF record that specifies exactly which email servers are authorized to do so. Take the time to throw a wrench into the spammers game, and protect your domain’s reputation at the same time.

See the Open SPF Project for details. They make it sound simple. Once I’ve done it myself, I’m sure I’ll think so too.

Written by Tom Fox

09/18/2007 at 10:58 pm

Posted in Email Spam

