The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Speed bumps?

subscribe


So I went back and completed the whitepaper request form at ExactTarget.com (see: prior blog entry, and the information was quickly delivered, very useful, and clearly presented.
I have no complaints about the information ExactTarget gave to me for free, with very few strings attached. Thank you! But, a split second after I clicked the submit button on the whitepaper request form, I glanced over to the left side of the web page and noticed the check box to subscribe to a newsletter. Too late!

Now I have to go back and do it all over again.

Maybe this is intentional. Maybe this design has the purpose to slow down the headlong rush to subscribe to this newsletter, so as to deter frivolous, inconsequential, and easily irritated information scroungers like me. Perhaps placing the newsletter check box totally apart from the rest of the request form is an intentional barrier to force me to pause and reflect, and ask “Do I really and truly want to receive this email newsletter?”

I think it’s crazy.

Written by Tom Fox

09/20/2007 at 8:41 am

