The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

More sand in my grits

The PDF file format is one of my personal favorites, and when I’m presented with information on the web in PDF format, I generally save it to my own disk space for future reference or printing.

There are two essential considerations to remember when naming PDF files intended for distribution on the web:

1.  Use descriptive file names.  Unless your constituency is still using Windows 3.1, you have a fair number of characters  available for use in file names.  “Transactional_email.pdf” is really more useful and friendly then is “2260.pdf.”

2. Don’t use white spaces in file names.  On my system, white space in filenames on the web get translated into “%20” sequences.  It’s not horrible, but it is ugly. “Transactional_email.pdf” or “Transactional%20email.pdf”, take your pick.  My preference is the former.

Written by Tom Fox

09/22/2007 at 8:10 am

Posted in PDF, Web Design

