The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Crazy people think they’re sane, and stupid people . . .

Crazy people think they’re sane, and stupid people don’t know it. The latter is the Dunning-Kruger effect.

I didn’t know there was a name for it.

“…when people are incompetent in the strategies they adopt to achieve success and satisfaction, they suffer a dual burden: Not only do they reach erroneous conclusions and make unfortunate choices, but their incompetence robs them of the ability to realize it. Instead, …they are left with the mistaken impression that they are doing just fine.”

see: Wikipedia

The Dunning-Kruger effect is the phenomenon wherein people who have little knowledge think that they know more than others who have much more knowledge.

That sounds like me, except if I realize it, then it isn’t me, but then I’d be wrong, and not as smart as I thought, so maybe it’s me after all.

Written by Tom Fox

09/25/2007 at 9:42 pm

Posted in Weird News

