The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Email spammer trick to avoid

My best advice is to never monkey with the date of an email.  As a default I’m sure that most people sort their emails by date, with the most recent email appearing at the top.

One might erroneously think that using tomorrow’s date on an email might give it more exposure by forcing it to the top of the list.  It does force it to the top of the list, but the only time I ever see these post-dated emails is when I look at the contents of my spam folder.

I chuck them in the dustbin without a second look.

They are all spam.  Every last one of them.

There is really no point in trying to get tricky with email marketing.  There is nothing you can think up that hasn’t already been tired by someone else, and foiled a long time ago.

Written by Tom Fox

12/03/2007 at 12:56 pm

Posted in Email Marketing

