The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

I can’t get past the monkey

Prints made easy - monkey

I’ve been aware of Prints Made Easy (PrintsMadeEasy.com) for a few years now. It consistently spends money for good placement on Google AdWords, and I just keep tripping over it. The thing is that the web site is dominated by this full screen jungle scene . . . in motion . . . with this animated monkey, and a sign that says “No monkey business.”

It might as well say, “No monkey business, honest. Really. You can trust us. Doubt not.”

I’ve checked this business out every way I can think of. I checked its domain registration. I checked the Better Business Bureau. I even checked the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office to see if the claimed registered trademark was really registered. It was. Prints Made Easy is a legitimate business as far as I can tell.

But, I can’t get past the monkey. Try as I might. The monkey is a deal killer.

There is something in my backwoods mentality that short-circuits every time I see this grinning monkey that wants me to trust him. There is a huge disconnect between that image and the boring solidity I want from a printer.

I am reminded of Seth Godin’s book, Meatball Sundae.

My advice is: Kill the monkey.

Written by Tom Fox

05/21/2008 at 7:35 pm