The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Everyday lies

One marketing guy says to another marketing guy, “We spent a $bazillion last year marketing our brands, and we don’t have a clue if all that money did any good or not. I’ve developed this consumer survey to find out.”

Second marketing guy: “That looks like a very long survey. I hope you remember that we spent $750,000 last year to discover that consumers don’t like long surveys.”

First marketing guy: “I though of that. At first I considered just telling them it was a short survey and leaving it at that, but the research department tells me bare-faced lies don’t work as well as they used to. So, I settled on the lie by innuendo. Look at the survey screen shot below. Do you notice anything?”

Second marketing guy: “Brilliant! They will look at that graphic at the bottom and calculate the whole survey is only 5 questions. They won’t figure out that it is really 20 to 30 questions until it’s too late.”

What I think is they should have a comment form where I can free-form type in what I think, except they’d have to pay somebody to read what I think, and they wouldn’t like it much.

Written by Tom Fox

06/03/2008 at 2:36 pm

Posted in Marketing

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Now that’s funny… Makes me think of Seth Godin’s “All Marketers Are Liars”. Great job!

    EPORIA

    06/03/2008 at 2:55 pm


Comments are closed.

