The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Limbo marketing

I stopped at the drive-up window at my bank to make a deposit.  It’s the multi-lane pneumatic tube delivery system type affair.  When the deposit canister returned with my receipt, there was also a 4-inch square purple piece of paper and a pen inside.  The purple piece of paper had blank fill-in spaces asking me for my name, address, phone, employer, whether I use direct deposit, if I’d changed jobs in the last 5 years, and if I still had a 401k with my former employer.

What was lacking was an explanation for their asking, a reason why I should answer, or what they planed to do with the information.

I drove off happy.  Without any effort I had something to write about here.  Another example of idiotic marketing.

Written by Tom Fox

06/06/2008 at 6:08 pm

