The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Link rot

It bears repeating. When I put up a web page and allow it to remain in place for a while, I never delete it. I edit it, re-design it, re-purpose it . . . or as a last resort I redirect it, but I don’t delete it. The reason I don’t delete it is because I really hate it when somebody else deletes a web page I have linked to.

Linking is the lifeblood of the Web. Deep linking, or linking to specific interior pages, is the only type of linking that I do. I find exactly the right reference and point to it. I don’t say, “The exact right reference is somewhere on this web site, go find it yourself.”

Then, things get moved around or re-named. Links go dead when they shouldn’t. There is no reason for it except ignorance or indifference. It’s like money down the drain. Plus, it’s a big pain in the ass for me, and it makes me think twice about linking to your site ever again.

Maybe you’re not as smart as I once thought you were.

Written by Tom Fox

07/09/2008 at 10:37 am

