The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Microblogging standards

The microblogging standard was set by Twitter, which brougt the idea to its next level of perfection.  I trust there is still room for improvement.  Many developers seem to think it’s a possibility, and are putting effort into pursuit.

But why 140 characters as a limit?  I’m sure there was a good reason that I may never know.  It probably has something to do with the SMS plague.  I’ll look into that later, or not.

The binary choices would have been between 128 and 256.  Some microblog software I have seen opted for the 256 (or a 255 characters to preserve the option of a totally blank post) character limit, but I havent noticed any restricted to 128 (127) characters.

The obvious Biblical choice would have 144 characters.  It’s gross.

Written by Tom Fox

08/17/2010 at 2:47 pm

