The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Never delete a blog post, ha!

“Every sport has unwritten rules, and blogging is no different. One unofficial ‘law’ is that you should never delete any of your blog posts or the comments left by readers.” – Andrew G. Rosen, May, 2010

I started this blog four years ago this month.  My agenda was to learn about WordPress and blogging by doing it for a while and see what happened.  Andy Rosen’s recent comment above is typical of everything I’ve read on the subject of deleting posts.  Common wisdom is: Don’t do it!

Then in 2008 I got uncharacteristically excited about the race for President, and I wrote about it extensively here.  I received a gratifying amount of traffic.  I’m glad I did it, but two years later Google still saw this blog as mostly being about Obama-Hillary-McCain-Pailin, et al.

That is, until today when I deleted all of those old posts. Well, it will take Google a few weeks to adapt to the new environment.

Then there was the old post of mine which used the common name for Adolph Hitler’s political party in the  title.  That one was still receiving quite a bit of traffic up until today, when I deleted it.

I was seriously considering writing a thoughtful rebuttal to the half-dozen bloggers I found who generally agreed that deleting blog posts was unwise.  I started to write and made a list of reasons they presented in opposition to the deletion of blog posts:

  1. You’ll look bad.
  2. The internet never forgets.
  3. You’ll corrupt the accuracy of the historical record.
  4. You’ll cause broken links.
  5. You will look bad.
  6. You will get caught and be punished.

Then I remembered Sturgeon’s Law at the same time I remembered anal retentive. I deleted what I had written.

I think I can make Google forget that I ever had any interest in politics.  If anyone else is interested in my political views, G_d forbid, they’ll have to pay me to find out, because I’m done talking about it.

Plus, I want to see what happens after eliminating two-thirds of this blog. No pity.

“A certain man had a fig tree planted in his vineyard; and he came and sought fruit thereon, and found none. Then said he unto the dresser of his vineyard, Behold, these three years I come seeking fruit on this fig tree, and find none: cut it down; why cumbereth it the ground?” Luke 13:6-7

Written by Tom Fox

08/24/2010 at 12:14 am

Posted in Blogs, Google SEO

