The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

Who is Reince Priebus?

Reince Priebus is the new Chair of the Republican National Committee. The first time I’ve seen his name in the news is today’s report that he has written a letter to the Attorney General of the United States complaining that President Obama violated Federal Election law by using a video made in the residential portion of the White House for political purposes. I have looked for, but I have not found, any knowledgeable person who agrees with the legal implications of the accusations. It appears that President Obama’s current home in the Executive Mansion does not count as a government building in which official business is conducted, and filming there for political use does not run afoul of the law.  It seems to be an utterly trivial matter, so why am I writing about it?

When the Republicans in Congress went after President Clinton with razor blades and impeached him, I thought it was just because they hated Bill Clinton. Now it seems that cannibalistic attacks by Republicans upon members of the Democratic Party is standard operating procedure.  Implacable and unreasoning hostility may be a defining characteristic of the New Republican Party.

This helps me to better understand why I am no longer a Republican, but I still don’t comprehend what the Republicans are so pissed off about.

 

Written by Tom Fox

07/19/2011 at 1:42 pm

Posted in Politics

