The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

DINO – Democrat in name only

Update July 29, 2011

Now that I think about this I have to laugh. ,DINO the dinosaur is an appropriate name for what I am. Essentially I am a Rockefeller Republican, which is an extinct species.

-oOo-

Another open letter to my Senator, Mitch McConnell

Dear Senator McConnell,

I grew up right across the river from Louisville in Southern Indiana while you were County Judge Executive in Jefferson County, and I always liked what I knew of your civic attitude and good work for Louisville and the Commonwealth. I grew up in a Republican family and always felt a natural affinity for Republican politicians, even though I never had any great passion or interest in political or governmental affairs. But I always voted.

In the late 1970’s, while I was working for a Republican Judge in Indianapolis, I did get excited about the new ideas that conservatives such as Jude Wanniski and R. Emmett Tyrrell Jr. wrote about, the Austrian school of Economics, and Libertarians such as Murry Rothbard. Republicans in that bygone day were intellectually exciting, and the first time I ever became directly involved with political campaigns was for Ronald Regan and Dan Quayle. I was a proud Hoosier when Dan Quayle became Vice President, and I was also very proud how George H. W. Bush conducted Gulf War I. I couldn’t have cared less that President Bush 41 raised taxes, because I trusted his judgment and I knew he was doing a good job. I voted for Bush again in 1992, and for Bob Dole in 1996.

But to my everlasting chagrin, I even voted for George W. Bush in 2000. I stopped being a Republican the second American boots hit the sand of Iraq. I had written to President Bush pleading with him not to proceed with that foolish unjustified and incredibly expensive adventure, and I promised him that I would switch parties and become a Democrat if he acted out his militaristic pipe-dream. Well, he didn’t listen, and I kept my promise without a microsecond of hesitation or regret. I don’t agree 100% with the Democratic Party, but since I was living in Louisville at the time, party affiliation is declared, unlike in Indiana.

So, I’m a Democrat now, and I’m happy with the shift. For the last decade I have grown increasingly disgusted with Republicans, and especially so this past year. What’s wrong with you people?

The second time I became excited about National politics was when I worked in President Obama’s 2008 campaign. I like that man. I trust him and I respect his judgment. He is an honorable man, and he is just the type of President I like, similar to Ronald Regan in many ways. I aim to help President Obama get re-elected next year, as best I can.

Senator McConnell, you were an honorable man years ago, but now I have my doubts about you. It seems to me you are more interested in defeating President Obama than you are in doing your job as Senior Senator from the Commonwealth of Kentucky. That’s not OK with me, but I haven’t given up hope on you yet.

Sincerely yours,

Tom Fox

Written by Tom Fox

07/20/2011 at 7:41 pm

Posted in Politics

