The Learning Curve

New tricks for an old dog.

How big a problem is the National debt?

How big a problem is the National debt?

I don’t know. I honestly can’t wrap my head around it. The political rhetoric makes me dizzy, and I don’t trust any economic predictions of the future. My fallback position is to ignore the talk and to focus on the deeds.

If balancing the budget was of urgent importance right now, I believe that the political critters in Washington would not be divided upon party or ideological lines. If the National debt was about to blow up and ruin our country, I believe that recognition of the impending disaster would cross party lines.

Crisis tends to unify people and galvanize the collective will to action. That isn’t happening.

A genuine recognition of impending disaster does not allow any possible remedy to be taken off the table categorically. A drowning man clutches at straws. This make me believe the blank refusal to increase tax revenue is an indicator the problem is not as urgent as advertised.

Having first hand experience with household budget problems, as much effort goes into finding ways to increase income as goes into cutting spending. If you use the household budget as an analogy for the Federal budget, please use the entire picture and not just the half that suits your ideology.

I don’t doubt that the Federal debt and deficits are problems, but I do have serious doubts that they are crisis problem. Crisis problems inspire unity and a willingness to consider any solution, including raising tax revenues.

That’s not happening, so forget the heated rhetoric and ideological posturing. It is a time that calls for practicality. Don’t panic.

Written by Tom Fox

07/31/2011 at 11:27 am

Posted in Politics

